Downtown & Bagg’s Square
Bagg’s Square is home to Union Square, Utica’s train station. The area has undergone a bit of revitalization in recent years. This past year a Farmer’s market ran on Saturday’s during the summer. Some great eateries can be found there.
Children's Museum of History, Nat'l History, Science & Technology, located at 311 Main Street, Utica, NY, is open year round. An educationally enjoyable environment for kids from 1 to 101, it is chartered by NYS Board of Regents in history & science, a member Museum Association of NY & National Association of Museums in D.C., adopted by NASA & Office of Science, and declared a NYS & Federal Historic Building. Families, schools, scouts, daycare's, seniors, tourists interact w/100's of hands-on exhibits on 4 floors for hours of exploring fun.
The hall of fame was established on July 11, 1998 to honor the athletes who have lent their names and achievements to defining the sport of distance running. The Hall is dedicated to honoring the sport of distance running and the athletes who have made contributions to the sport, from top runners and the most decorated athletes, to those who pushed the sport's barriers and eventually broke them.
The historic Utica station was opened for the New York Central (NYC) Railroad on May 24, 1914, and became a Union Station in late 1915 when the Delaware, Lackawanna & Western Railroad and the New York, Ontario & Western Railroad moved their services to this riverside terminal. Amtrak passengers today use the restored waiting room of this staffed station, and instead of crossing under the tracks to the platforms as they once did, they use an enclosed aerial walkway. Its designers, architects Allen H. Stem and Alfred Fellheimer of New York City, brought to this project experience from building other notable stations such as New York City’s Grand Central Terminal, Detroit Michigan’s Central Station and the Art Deco Cincinnati Union Terminal.